Teen driver looking for a reliable first car!

Hey everybody!

So, I’m a high school student and looking for a first car. After observing the Consumer Reports “Best Used Cars to Buy” list I have picked 3 models of which I have found listings for on Craigslist. They all have low miles and are around the same price. So, I need some insight on which model would be the best and what the pros and cons of each vehicle would be. The models are

2007 Hyundai Elantra (sedan)
2007 Hyundai Sonata (sedan)
2006 Honda Civic DX (sedan)

Thanks for your time!

You can read a bunch of owners reviews on each of these cars here:

Enter the year, make, model, and trim level under the “Appraise a Used Car” heading, then click the blue “Appraise it” button. On the next page you’ll see a photo of the car, and to the right of it a link that says “Research the 2007 Hundai Elantra,” or whatever car it is. Click on that link and you’ll get maybe a hundred short reviews from actual owners of that year/model car.

These will give you an excellent feel for the “average” rating of each car and an idea of any recurring problems to watch for in each vehicle.

Thanks! I wasn’t aware of this feature on Edmunds!

Yeah, they bury that “research” link so it’s practically impossible to find unless you know where to look.