Large grilles

Am I the only person (besides my wife) who dislikes the trend toward giant grilles on cars?

2 Likes

My opinion, for what it’s worth, the Lexus grille is the most atrocious, oversized and ugly thing I have ever seen which includes some real monsters fron the 50s and 60s. Lexus, normally a nice looking Toyota has turned into a hideous creature.

Karl

7 Likes

As a retired truck driver I notice the truck’s are going the same way I think the designer’s are trying to best each other on uglyfieng the new vechile’s.

2 Likes

Done well, I like a large grill. Many of the cars I grew up with had large grills. Chrome was king… but that’s another subject.

The new Lexus grills seem to be highly polarizing. People either like them or are repelled by them. Personally, I like they. In my view they’re a bold statement.

I like the Buick grills. They make a friendly façade.
I think the Lincoln grills have been terrible for some years now, but they seem to be improving a bit. Their “split grill” looked like they’d had a head-on with a giant bird and the bird carcass was still stuck there.
I’m having a hard time getting used to the new Honda and Toyota styling. Both seem to be busy and overworked to me.

But the reality is that it’s all just taste. It’s the car behind the grill that really counts.

1 Like

Yikes, Ram looks the grouchist!

or

or

Lexus gets my vote as the most appallingly ugly snout out there.

5 Likes

There’ve been some bad ones in history too, though, that give Lexus a run for its money:

I agree 100%, the Lexus grills make those cars very ugly, I could never even think about owning one.

But my pet peeve is the narrow back windows, “required” because of the “required” raising belt line that is ubiquitous in today’s car. Reducing visibility, and therefore safety in the name of style really makes me angry.

And the very low profile tires are another case of style over safety.