Lane Change Scare

I live in Staten Island and I commute to work so I am a weekend driver. I am a fairly new driver, about 6300 miles on my first car in almost 2 years of ownership.

I consider myself a conscientious driver and a cautious driver. No accidents and I try my best not to engage in dangerous behavior on the road.

However, I did recently have a near collision doing a lane change.

I was driving in the middle lane of a 3-lane expressway and needed to change lane to the left lane to exit. I signaled and checked my sideview mirror. I saw a red sedan start to change lane too about four cars behind me too. I assumed that he would see me changing lane in front of him and I start to move left ahead. I hear immediate honking and I swerved toward the the middle lane straddling, I looked in the rear view mirror and he was already right behind me and he in fact had swerved into the middle lane too to avoid me. I immediately sped up and moved back to the left and there was no collision.

If I am behind someone in front of me and I see them signal, I usually slow down. But my mistake is I assume other people will do that too.

If there was a collision, who’s at fault? There’s no doubt he was speeding because I was 5 over the limit and he gained on me really fast. But I was the one who changed lane into the lane he was already in. I judged that there was enough distance to change lane, but I did not expect him to speed up even after seeing that I was signaling and changing lane.

Depends on your state. In my state, no matter who actually caused the wreck, both parties are partially at fault. Even if I’m sitting still at a stop sign and you rear-end me, I am 5% at fault because my car is involved, and another 5% at fault because I was in the car at the time.