Dude suddenly stops in front of me, what to do

I am a new driver and I had this near accident experience (fortunately my only one so far) and I am not sure whether I reacted correctly or not. Would like some feedback. Thank you.

I was in the left lane of a two lane blvd going with the traffic flow at about 40 mph (35 speed limit). The car directly in front of me suddenly slows down and pulls over to the grassy center median to talk to someone standing there. WTF. Half his car was in the lane so no matter what I had to get at least partially out of my lane.

At this point I had a car close directly behind me and a car also close behind me in the right lane. In a split second decision I stepped on the gas and went into the right lane without signaling. Essentially I cut the car off even though I didn’t mean to. The driver didn’t honk me or seem angry when I checked in the rear view mirror afterwards when we were both stopped at a red light but I felt like I might have fxxxed up.

The alternative was to slow down to let the right-lane car pass before I changed lane, but in the little time I had I could not see whether that car had other cars close behind and I was worried the car behind me would hit me.

I could see the right-lane car’s headlights in my right sideview mirror so that’s why I chose to accelerate to get in front.

I asked my friends for advice but they were divided. Most felt it was safer to slow down or stop.

What do you guys think? It was my judgment in that split second that it was safer to accelerate and cut the car off than to slow down and risk between hit from behind. But I can’t be sure I made the right decision. I should have been more aware how much traffic was behind me on the right lane.