Key FOB Kia Sedona

I picked up a Kia Sedona Base model from a private sale. The owner did not have the FOB keys.

What is the best way to get one.? I see they can be purchased used on line and then you take it to a dealer or qualified locksmith for programing.
I don’t have a Kia dealer close by. It is at the least a 20 mile ride.
I have no experience with this. What is the best approach? Thanks.

First thing is to find out if the car came from the factory with remote keyless entry, If it didn’t buying a key FOB would be a waste of money.

Start by calling a locksmith. However, I have a vague memory that with many cars you need at least one fob to program a new one, so don’t be surprised if they send you to the dealer because of that. Unfortunately, this is usually pretty expensive, so my guess is that you’ll be quoted $500 or more for two working fobs.

By the way, “fob” is not an acronym.

What model year is this Sedona?
What trim level does it have?

2010 model year. Base model. I believe they call it a L sport van. I could live with out it if they had lock cylinders on the passenger door and hatch. But the only lock cylinder is on the drivers door. Therefore I believe it must have come with the FOB.

There is no lock on the passenger side? or no door?

That is normal for many vehicle with remote entry. Call a dealer with your VIN and ask them if you have remote entry and how much it will cost to get 2 remotes . Also your insurance agent might be able to check it for you , some can and some can’t.

Inexpensive option for the hardware:
https://www.carandtruckremotes.com/2010-kia-sedona-remote-b.html?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIr6yW0eDH3gIVBL3sCh3CZAYNEAQYASABEgIj-PD_BwE

How to program it to the van:

You have a base model. That would lead me to believe there never was a remote key fob. And they saved money by having only one actual keyed lock.