Is Max Life legit?

Hello; I’m new to this message board so I’m not sure how this works. I have a '95 Eldorado that has a ‘slight’ oil leak, as the mechanic said, which he will watch. (He may be ready for a new boat.) I saw recently about Max Life oil for older cars. Is this a viable option for mine at my next oil change? Or should I just go forward and trust the mechanic? I’m new to the area and this is the Cadillac dealer. My car only has 76,000 miles and has never given me any major problems after the warranty ran out. Thanks for any advice/comments.

LilyBee

Is there actually an oil leak? How big of one? Where is it leaking? How much would it cost to fix the leak?

Remember, oil is fairly cheap, some seals that oil can leak from aren’t cheap to replace (because of labour.)

Well, as I said, the mechanic (service rep) said it was a slight leak. There are drops of oil (I guess) underneath my car. It’s not leaking much because the car’s computer indicator doesn’t go down much or quickly. The service rep said it would cost $2000, to get it fixed; which probably means closer to $3000. I realize that this would be mainly labor to pull out the engine.
Max Life (Valvoline) is “the first motor oil formulated for higher mileage engines. It is a blend of premium syntehtic and conventional basestocks with a seal conditioning agent, extra cleaning agents, additional antiwear additives, and friction modifiers.” Thus, it is supposed to be for cars with mileage over 60,000. I’m looking for advice from either a mechanic or an auto owner who has used this product and whether it was a satisfactory solution to any type of leakage.

Thanks.

Considering the small, insignificant amount of leakage, a reasonable course of action is to do nothing. You will continue to check the oil level every month as every car owner must do. Add more if necessary. (If you’re not sure, the neighbor kid will show you how.)