Hydrogen Booster Systems

I’m a high school student working on my science fair project and I need some help! My topic is hydrogen booster fuel systems. I’ve seen tons of websites trying to market the things but I’m not sure how trustworthy they are. (I’m actualy intentding to try and make one, so if anyone has advice I’d be very grateful!) I’m going to visit a man that sells them, as he’s agreed to let me interview him and show me how the systems work. I’m just not sure what to expect. Does anyone have ideas or good places to find information about these systems? Thank You!

If you’re talking about the ones that advertise that they’ll seperate the hydrogen from water to boost power, they’re a scam.

See the man, carefully document what he says, and then discuss it with your science teacher. It’ll be a good learning experience.

I strongly suggest that you talk with your science teacher before working with anything of this sort. While seperating the hydrogen from the oxygen in water is much more difficult than it sounds, and I seriously doubt you’d be able to successfully make such a seperator, hydrogen can be dangerous, as the deigners of the Hindenburg blimp discovered.

As TSMB said, these sites are scams. That is, they are taking honest people’s money and providing them with useless equipment, a fraudulant business. . Do NOT accuse this man, he will have all kinds of ‘explanations’. Just be assured that NO legitimate organization has found any benefits to these devices. You can read Popular Mechanic’s comments here: http://www.popularmechanics.com/automotive/new_cars/4271579.html

Also, here’s a great digram that explains where all the energy released during combustion goes:

This is why the “HHO” scams can’t work - about 75% of the energy released is lost as heat and friction, so it’s a 4 to 1 losing proposition!

You have recieved permission from your instructor to pursue this activity?