Hose clamp removal tool

Does any one have any experience with this type of tool?

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/p/autocraft-hose-clamp-pliers-ac7777/10449621-P?searchTerm=hose+clamp+pliers
http://www.sears.com/craftsman-cable-operated-hose-clamp-pliers/p-00947390000P

I have a 2005 Chrysler Town and Country, 76,000 miles and I want to change the PCV valve. I can reach in and touch it, but can’t get pliers, channel locks, vice grips etc on it. It seems to be a pretty simple replacement, but I cannot get the factory clamp off.

I’ve seen my shop use a similar tool, but they also know what they are doing, I am a weekend mechanic.

Any body have any thoughts on this or another way to replace the PCV valve? Thanks much

I bought one of those at Autozone for about $35 but haven’t used it yet. I bought it to remove the factory wire hose clamps on radiator and heater hoses that are hard to get at. The thing tends to stick though when you try to release it so not sure how its going to work. As far as PCV, I dunno. You have to pull the valve out of the grommet and push it back in again. Usually you swap the hose after you pull the valve out so not sure if this would help much. Might be better to just get one of those very long (like 12") needle nose pliers for about $10 instead.

I bought one, and I forget where. I returned it because it was basically junk and didn’t work all that well and wasn’t even all that easy to to use. Getting into tight spaces and arranging the end isn’t as easy as one would think it should be and then you couldn’t even adjust it well enough to compress the clamp enough to make it work anyway.

I’m sure that what I bought was of similar quality to the “Autocraft” one. Perhaps Snap-on or Mac or someone makes better ones that do work well.

Thanks, I was afraid the lower cost tool might be low quality too. I will try to pull the valve out with the hose attached and put a new hose on with a new valve