Honda Odyssey out of gear

I have an old (mid-'90s) Honda Odyssey that has generally worked great. Yesterday, it struggled to get up an icy driveway (since it does not have four-wheel drive) and once at the top seemed to to disengage from fourth gear into neutral, though it was still in fourth. After turning off the car and restarting, it engaged fine.
Today the same thing happened on a level, non-icy surface after a few minutes of driving at slow speed. Is it possible to avoid this problem by driving in a lower gear to begin with?
Any repairs would likely cost more than the car is worth, but I want to keep driving it – safely – as long as possible.

You were not in 4th gear at the top off driveway. Why do you think you were in 4 th gear at 5mph? Or less?

I’m not sure what you mean. (I’m no car expert.) I had the car in fourth gear, whatever it was doing.

You maybe low on transmission fluid, so check the transmission fluid level.

Thanks! I will check that out.

Ok. I understand. You had gear selector in “D” or drive which allows car to shift into overdrive or typically 4th gear. As car slows down, it automatically shifts into lower gear. So when you are driving slow, say 10mph you will actually be in 1st gear. Loosing OD is a typical problem. But your issue is car is skipping into neutral or it slips so much it feels like neutral. Bottom line is you do not move. Yes, checking fluid level is first step. But, a trans with lots of slippage usually indicates other problems.

Is this an automatic or manual tranny? If it’s a manual, your clutch is slipping. The condition under which a worn clutch is most likely to start slipping is in high gear under high load.

Thanks all. It’s automatic, so I’m hoping it’s just the fluid level.