Help please I'm not a mechanic

So I bought a 2012 Dodge avenger everything was fine drove it home from the dealer got gas and a few hours later on my to work it shifted gears hard one time then about 2 minutes later it was like I had no gears no reverse no nothing barely pressed the gas and the the gears would wind like nothing I ever heard while the car was in park and the engine in idle I heard a loud ass pop ass my radiator line leading to my transmission blew off with avengeance without the car overheating at all I noticed the anifreeze was extremely diluted to the point it smells like water just hoping someone can give me advice on with could of happened and can it be fixed so this won’t happen again

You are basically trying to describe 2 possibly 3 problems.

You were able to drive your “New to you” Avenger with an automatic transmission…until…it would not move anymore…why? Does it have transmission fluid? Is it leaking fluid? Did you check?

The engine overheated…most likely due to that hose junction / Rad cap thing in the picture…

That Rad cap / Hose Junction thing is broken and needs replaced…it either broke on its own…or your rad system became over pressurized and basically made it fail that way…either way that junction is toast.

If you dont know what you are doing, this is actually a time when a mechanic is needed here…because the issues you are having can actually have serious causes…and only an experienced tech will be able to identify what is a simple fix and what is not here. It could go either way as I can think of both a simple and complex explanation for each of your issues. You really need to know which it is.

1 Like

The thing is the engine did NOT over heat no warning whatsoever the gauge was in the middle temp never spiked that’s y I’m confused