Getting new hatchback

I love the looks of my 2007 VW GTI but not the mileage or the fact that it is a foreign car. I am from Michigan and want to buy a Ford. I still owe some on my GTI (less than it is worth so I’ll still come out ahead) and prefer to trade it in rather than sell privately. I live alone and don’t feel comfortable selling/test driving my car with someone. I would like to buy a Ford Fiesta hatchback. I am looking for any advice on how to get the best deal as I have never done purchased a new car before. Ideas?

You mean you want an American sounding named car…The 2011 Ford Fiesta is currently in production at the company?s Cuautitlan, Mexico. That’s not helping Michigan.
My advice is to research models actually made in America if you don’t want a foreign car. Maybe the Focus to 2010 and beyond.

I didn’t know that. I just want to support an American company. I have also been thinking about the 2012 Ford Focus hatchback. Maybe I will wait for that to come out.

Go to 3 Ford dealers and get them to write their best deal on a Fiesta with your car as a trade. Don’t sign any papers, just get the price and leave your phone # with the salesman. Tell them you are shopping around before deciding on a car.

Then compare your deals and wait. In a week or so the phone will ring. Tell the salesperson you have a better deal than he offered you but you haven’t bought yet. Let this go back and forth on the phone a few times over a couple of days. If 2 or 3 salespeople call even better. When you get a deal you like, then you can go back to the dealer to finalize the deal. They will try to say you misunderstood something and so you might have to walk away again. Eventually you’ll get a deal and it will usually be just before the end of the month.