Buying another car

Would anyone consider buying an American car with all the trouble now in Detroit?

Of course. There are some really good deals to be had, especially if it is a Ford. Ford is in pretty good shape.

…and my 1998 Honda Civic is an American car. It was made in the U.S.A. with American labor, and I would be willing to buy another one.

At this time, I would only buy 2 Detroit models; the Ford Fusion (built in MEXICO) and the Chevrolet Malibu. Both are good cars, and I’m not worried about the warranty or either company or its division staying in busines in some form.

Sure, but then I have been buying cars since 1965 and I have never chosen a US brand car. They just don’t cater to what I like in a car. That said, I don’t see any other reason to not buy one.

The cars there are few I like but the state of Detroit is irrelevant.

If I had the need for a full size truck/SUV I would not hesitate buying a domestic brand. The other brands cannot even come close to competing with the offers by Ford & GMC/Chevy.

I’m considering buying a Cobalt for my daughter now. The Malibu is a great car, but it’s just too expensive. I also have $3000 GM bucks burning a hole in my pocket. If GM declares bankruptcy in two months when the US government decides what to do about them, those GM bucks will likely evaporate. President Obama said today that the US government would underwrite GM and Chrysler warranties, but I’m not sure he can do that unilaterally. If he can, I’m in. I don’t think I can wait any longer if I want to use those GM bucks.