Fuel issue. this van is my source of income. help!

My fuel pump primes only when it wants to, and when it does I have to assist the start with some throttle to make sure it fires. If I don’t get it the first time I’m SOL for the rest of the day. When it starts it runs great! But if I turn it off it wont start again until the next day. Or sometimes two days. I’m thinking it could be one or maybe even a few of these issues?

• Bad fuel pump
  • Blown fuse (relay and/or pump)
  • Loose electrical connection
  • Faulty ignition switch

If you have any additional ideas/ possible causes that would be much appreciated.

My local ford mechanic charges $119/hr and I don’t want some hack throwing parts at it until my bill is worth more than my truck. Hopefully I can find someone in between or do the work myself. I’m a contractor and this van is my life line. Without it I am worthless

If it were a blown fuse, then the pump would never work. The other 3 are possibilities. As this is your income source, take it to a shop. Don’t take it to the dealership, take it to a local independent. If that’s the $119 an hour guy, then so be it.

To crib from Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, that repair costs $119 per hour. Not repairing it costs however much you make per hour, times the number of hours the vehicle is down, plus $119 per hour when you finally do decide to get it repaired. How quick will the cost of not repairing it surpass the cost of repairing it?

5 Likes

If this is the 1995 van you asked about a year ago why have you not upgraded because down time is the last thing you need.

Same van. Its been running great since the overheating issue was solved. This is a fairly new problem.