Fuel Gauge not working, Malaysian Jungle Stanza

Hi all!

I live in Hawaii. I’m getting married in Malaysia (my future wife is Malay). I am an engineer and I want to prove it to her family.

As an act of international diplomacy, intercultural exchange, marital worthiness, and just for the challenge of a difficult problem, I want to try and fix the no-functional fuel gauge on this car.

Here’s the info I have:
SE Asian Domestic Market (RHD) 1983 NIssan Stanza.
Fuel gauge has not worked for several years.

My plan:
Purchase the 1983 Nissan Stanza Service Manual (DONE)
Go to a junkyard and get a used fuel sender assembly.
Go to a junkyard and get a used gauge cluster.
Bring a continuity meter to test the wire harness that must run from the gauge cluster to the sending unit.

Questions:
Will a fuel sender assembly purchased in the states work in an asian domestic market car?
I CAN’T screw this up. What are the pitfalls? What should I be extra careful of?

I’m worried the plastic of the old gauge cluster will fall apart in my hands, all the clips will break off, and I won’t be able to get it back together.

I’m also worried that the seal around the sending unit won’t remain intact. Is there some kind of compound out there I can use as a precaution?

Help!

Many thanks! Mahalo and terima kasih!

-L