Fear of the unknown

I have a problem. I have a friend who needs a new fuel pump, '02 Corolla. I cannot work bent over due to physical issues. He has the body, I have the brains, and the plan is to work as a team. We have all the parts (including a new filter and strainer), and I have all the tools and more. I’ve sent him a detailed procedure, including how to remove the seat bottom, depressurize the fuel line, and disconnect the battery, as well as exploded view drawings of the seat installation, the fuel pump installation, and the fuel pump assembly. And he too is an engineer by trade (a very smart and respected one). But fear of the unknown has him scared, even though I’ll be right there with him AND even though that he’s done considerable work of the same level on his own cars.

My problem? He’s getting the willies. Any thoughts on how I might be able to give him some confidence? I was thinking of telling him we’ll remove the seat bottom and if he’s still scared we can it to a shop… an idea that gives ME the willies!

Please, don’t question the diagnosis. My problem here isn’t technical, it’s mental. I appreciate all suggestions.
Maybe I shouldn’t have used the term “exploded view” drawing to describe a fuel pump replacement?

Will you be there when he does this, or is this a remote operation?

Ask him if he would prefer to spend what less than a hundred for a try to fix, or just shell out 700 or whatever now. If we fail the shell out wil be the same, if he is still scared and wants to spend whatever bucks let it go, Grace Slick and Jeffferson Airplane, Don’t try to change people even if you can.

I’ll be there.
Good question, however, as I have been known to do “remote operations”.

Physics is so easy to understand compared to the human psyche. :confused:

Physics is so easy to understand compared to the human psyche