Fact or fiction?

Does rust convertor work?-Kevin

I tried one a few years ago and it was less than effective. I guess if it get’s to the rust when it’s just surface rust…it may work. I was not impressed even though the theory behind it is sound.

I too have tried it and not been impressed.

All of the rust “converters” I have ever tried were almost useless.
The product that does work and I would stand behind is POR-15. I’ve been using that for 20 years and still have cars that I did back then that look the same as they did when it was first done. I also did some experimentation to gauge the effectiveness on various types of repairs. Rotted out cab corners, panel surface rust, scaly frames etc. It does everything they claim and then some. I’ve told this story before but I used to get strange looks when people would ask about the recently repaired frame laying outside in the tall grass- I’m prepping for paint! POR-15 actually works best if there is surface rust giving it something to grab onto versus smooth metal…

I guess one requirement is to have 100% access to all rusted areas for POR-15 to work. Rust can often hide in very hard-to-reach areas…

Depends on your motivation. I’ve used it to completely arrest the condition and stop it from doing further damage but I’ve also used it to simply slow it down enough to make it last the rest of it’s useful life (to me).