Dump it or keep it!

This is asking for your opinion ad ideas that can help me make an informed decision.

MY SITUATION:- I am a grad student in OH, and intend to move to CA by the end of this month. I own a 1991 Toyota Corolla with 198K miles on it. It works fine for my usual 3 miles roundtrip commute to school and the occasional long drive to NJ or IL. There is some visible rust in the corners but nothing significant. I am looking for a job and will continue to do so after I move to CA.

MY OPTIONS:-

------------

OPTION 1: Get my old car checked up and make any necessary repairs to keep it running for the next one year. I know I may have to change tires and most probably the brakes. There is a strong chance struts might have to be replaced too. So I am thinking if I can get all necessary repairs done within ~$800, I will get it done, drive to CA and keep the car for the next year (or two hopefully).

OPTION 2:

Sell my car for whatever I can get and move out. Then I will miss out on my possible rare opportunity to drive cross country and will have to get my books etc. shipped and fly to CA with extra baggage.

I have thought about it and haven’t reached a decision. I am looking for the opinion of the this great Car Talk community that can help me decide !

Will you need a a car in California? If you can get away without a car, you may want to spare yourself the expense. If the Toyota isn’t air conditioned, I certainly wouldn’t make the trip.

Will the car make it? That is a good guess. I had a graduate student who drove an old Ford Fiesta made in the late 1970’s to California from Indiana. This was around 1996. This woman was quite mechanical and also very feminine. She pulled the cylinder head off the Fiesta and took it to a machine shop for a valve job before she made the trip. She drove the car for several years out in California. She had a good job, but was a wonderful pianist, so she bought a new grand piano before replacing the car.