Direct Short to 'ROOM' fuse in 2008 Mazdaspeed3

About a month or so ago I was driving along in my car, and suddenly the radio, speakers, and I would soon find, the entire interior lighting, popped. I figured maybe it was just a fuse, wasn’t too worried about it. I popped the hood and found the engine bay fuse box, the ROOM fuse was popped (15a fuse). I found another 15a, and as soon as the pins made contact to the connector in the fuse box, the fuse popped instantly. So after a little research online I have a “dead short” or “direct short”, which I guess basically means that a hot wire is making contact to ground or neutral?? (Sorry if those are the incorrect terms, I have very little knowledge in electrical stuff.) But how would one go about fixing that? would I check all the components that are connected to that fuse in the interior, and unplug them one by one and try to replace the fuse each time to see which one might be faulty? I have tried spraying the fuse box with compressed air for electronics, and nothing.

Any help or advice on this would be greatly appreciated. thank you.

EDIT: First thing I did was remove the radio, and I heard some sort of rattling inside of it. I completely disconnected it, and tried a new fuse, just in case. Everything worked after I unplugged the radio. After that, I took apart the radio and found that there was a QUARTER inside of the components, which was causing the short. I took out the quarter, reinstalled the radio, and everything is back to normal. What are the odds? Thank you all for your time!

Trial and error is one way, disconnect the power to items or bulbs one by one and see which circuit is the troublemaker. One might go for probable issues, broken shorted wires in the harness that is in between the driver door and frame, or tailgate if so equipped.

3 Likes