Defining wires on insturment cluster

Hi,
I’m still new to car modding and I have a small project going around at the moment. I bought an instrument cluster that fits my car but from a newer model, just to clear things out it fits with same harness but since this cluster is from a newer car it seems to not work. I looked up wiring diagram on google but with no avail. I need help with tricks to find basic features like RPM, speedo, fual, and engine temp.

Note: I opened the cluster and looked for the positive and negative terminal on the PCB but they are not printed.

Any help is appreciated.

Why are you even asking this question?

You don’t provide the year of your vehicle, nor the year of the vehicle that replacement instrument cluster came out of.

And you expect us to provide a resource for a wiring diagram?

Tester

With today’s computer controlled cars, switching instrument clusters from one year to another usually isn’t possible.

And when it is possible, You usually have to take it into the dealer so they can reprogram the computer to the new cluster.

This is mainly done to keep people from putting low mileage clusters into high mileage cars.

3 Likes

I think the signal would be similar if not the same for every car. And to answer your question my car is 2007 and the cluster is from 2011. They have same plugs but the newer one has more features. I need to know how to look for signals form RPM and other gages.

Thank you.

You’re going to have to fork over some money if you want the wiring diagram

Go to the hyundai technical information website and pay the fee for 2-3 days of access to all the information you want

1 Like

I don’t think my 2007 elantra that advanced. I tested a different cluster for 2009 or 2010 and it worked perfectly but it doesn’t have the engine temp gauge like my old cluster from 2007.