Complete novice with a simple problem

Hi there, despite loving Car Talk here in Glasgow, Scotland, I’m a complete novice when it comes to cars outside of driving one. I’ve had this Kia Picanto City since June and it’s ran great up until recently. The clutch is a fair bit more slack than it should be, and my dad thinks that’s down to the terrible way both myself and my brother were taught to change gears down when approaching a round-about or turn etc. (essentially coasting with the clutch down). However it’s never really been a problem driving it. This winter, it’s difficult to get the car moving in the morning. The car turns on fine and everything, but when i try to drive it out it’s parking space, the car feels like it’s trying to move but the wheels stay still. It then takes a fair bit of effort to move it, it’s as if I’m rolling over a dead body on the road. That’s been a daily occurrence but this morning it was worse than usual, making a bad sound and smell. When I got the car moving it was making a noise like it was a jet engine slowing down and speeding up depending on speed. Like a “wumph, wumph, wumph”. I decided to turn around and leave it at home, because like i said, i’m a novice.

Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers!

Your clutch is worn out.

If the sound you describe is the engine revving up and back down, then Rod Knox is right. Does the car have a Tachometer or rev counter?

My guess is it’s just TIME for the clutch to be replaced. How many miles/kilometers are on your car?

Unless you are coasting to slow down with the clutch PARTIALLY engaged, that has nothing to do with the clutch’s demise. Do you EVER rest your foot on the clutch pedal when going down the street? We call that riding the clutch. It will ruin one quickly.

The OP can count this as one more person who believes that the clutch is simply worn out.
However, whether this has to do with the OP’s driving style or to the (unknown) odometer mileage of this car, I can’t say.