"Can't Replace / Fix Shifter Cable - Have to Replace [Auto] Transmission"

Hello!

I just received the following voicemail from a mechanic:

“The cable for the transmission is not engaging into drive and the other gears…

…in most other transmissions, you can re[place] / fix the cable to get it to go into gear…

…for this particular transmission you can’t fix the cable. If the cable is broken, you cannot get the transmission to work, so you end up needing to replace the transmission…”

This is for a 95 Mitsubishi Mirage LS Coupe (1.8 Liter variant) with an automatic transmission.

I would assume he’s talking about the shifter cable, which can be had for $50 - $100 (?). I’m not a mechanic by trade, but the transmission didn’t show any signs of slippage or refusing to go into gear sporadically when it failed (or didn’t fail - just seems like it’s stuck in neutral).

Are there any other “linkage” cables to the tranny that I should be worried about? (E.g., is there a high chance he’s talking about the shifter cable?) Are there really automatic transmissions on the market from 15 years ago that are so non-modular that a broken cable can force the entire transmission to have to be replaced?

This is a pretty decent car that seems to have life left on it, even if it’s at 200K miles (put 12K~ or so on it so far), and it gets me 35+ MPG on my hour trip into work, but I can’t see replacing the transmission for possibly $500+ on a car that’s worth maybe $1200. (Just replaced the flex pipe, some of the exhaust hangers, power steering pump, and belt tensioner to boot - all normal wear and tear after 15 or so years.)

Thanks for your responses - I’d like to be prepared before I return his call.

Cheers!