Can repairing this dent and rust be DIY

hey guys I have a Hyundai ioniq hybrid 2017.

I damaged my door and quarter panel pretty bad back in March.

I’ve been researching DIY repairs and it looks like a stud welder, bondo and paint is the way to go.

what do you think, is it worth attempting as a total newbie?

![20190723_095833|690x335]

Google Photos

First question - insurance?
Second answer - no, a newbie won’t get this anywhere near right, and you’ve let it go way too long (the rust).

You should have full coverage insurance on a 2017 so just pay your deductible and have it done properly. A do it your self is going to look terrible .

I see.

I drive uber in NY so my commercial insurance pays only $45 an hour (wtf, I know)

I don’t mind if it looks terrible tbh. But it sounds like the rust is too deep for any meaningful repairs.

You can either have it fixed right, or you can fix it wrong yourself and the rust will be back within a year. 2 at most. And insurance doesn’t pay anything per hour for rust.

Where are you getting that hourly figure because that is not how your comprehensive and collision coverage works.

Indeed. OP, if you had riders at the time the damage happened, Uber’s insurance should kick in and pay for the damage less a $1,000 deductible.

If you did not have riders actually in the car when it happened, then Uber won’t pay anything, and whatever your own commercial insurance is should cover it. Your comprehensive/collision probably won’t help you here because you were driving for hire and most personal insurance policies are not valid when you are doing that.

If your app was not active (you were offline) then as @VOLVO_V70 said, your comprehensive/collision personal policy should cover it.

ANYTHING can be DIY. The difference is the quality.

Unless you’re an experienced body man then this is NOT a job for a DIYer.