1ST Accident Help

I have been driving for only about 3 months- got a 2009 Hyundai Accent about 2 months ago, and yesterday got into a minor accident. I’m a bit shaken up, but OK. I think the only damage to the car is some dents in the right side doors- front and rear, but other than that nothing seems to be wrong, after all, I drove it home. My question is: should I have it inspected for unseen damage- if so how much might it cost, and what should I ask for? I’m new to all of this, so please forgive my ignorance on these matters.

It is hard to see from here, but I have often been fooled about what looks like nothing and what is nothing. Twice I had damage that I would have thought trivial, but the insurance rep, pointed out problems I did not see including safety problems. The insurance company paid the bill and I still got additional discounts that year and the year after.

I would have my insurance company take a look at it.

Sounds good. Do I take the car to a mechanic- what do you mean by insurance rep? Thank you for your feedback. I’m so embarrassed over all this- I don’t want anything else bad to happen.

Yes, see your insurance agent first.
Even though it may have been a one car oops, a car this new must have full coverage and the agent will guide you through the process.

Your proof of insurance card or papers will identify whom you, or your parents, buy insurance from. ( assuming you’re a 16 year old beginning to drive. I know you could be beginning to drive at thirty something as is Russell Brand )
Phone the number on that document.
If it’s a local office you can drive over there and talk to them.
If it’s an on-line company, phone them and they will send a live person, the adjuster, to look at your car.

Thank you very much.

Call your agent to determine what your deductible is. Then take it to a few body shops to determine what the cost is. If the deductible is higher then what it’ll cost to fix it then don’t make a claim with your insurance company.