Can diesel fumes kill you?

I am an aviation maintenance student at our local college. In class the other day, one of my instructors stated that diesel fumes cannot hurt/kill you. According to her, you can sit in a garage filled with diesel exhaust all day long and emerge unscathed. I have my doubts, but is there actual truth to this?

No. Absolutely not. Even if the particulates (not a problem in a modern passenger diesel) don’t get you, and they probably won’t, the carbon monoxide might, and even if that is kept to a minimum, you could get to the point where the carbon dioxide could suffocate you

Is the instructor willing to prove her theory by testing it on herself?

If diesel exhaust were not harmful why would we be spending so much time and effort to clean up the engines on commercial vehicles?

The exhaust from any internal combustion engine is hazardous, poisonous, and lethal under the right circumstances. See OSHA information regarding diesel exhaust hazards at the link:

http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/dieselexhaust/index.html

If that were the case, why don’t we see diesel powered fork trucks used indoors instead of gas ? As stated, an internal combustion engine is an internal combustion engine and all have to be treated with respect. I suppose she thinks it’s OK to vent your heating oil flue to the inside as well.
Is your instructor a smoker ? Diesel may not seem quite so bad to her from her self induced haze. Every remark has to be taken in perspective, but on face value, her’s is a reason to change instructors.

Those diesel fumes absolutely can kill you.

I think that this instructor may be guilty of getting her scientific knowledge on this topic from a speech made many years ago by our then-President, Ronald Reagan.