Buick roadmaster quits intermittently

I have a 1995 buick roadmaster with 308,000 miles. The car quits intermittently but starts up immediately thereafter. Seems like an electrical issue but it doesn’t act like the distributor is malfunctioning or fuel stoppage since it doesn’t shudder prior to quitting.
I have had the car since new, we love it and would like to keep it. Please help. Thanks.

This is the hardest kind of problem to troubleshoot. If you have a check engine light, you will need to get the code read, but your car is pre OBDII, so a standard code reader won’t do. You need on that is made for GM cars before 1996, but only if you have a check engine light.

What will happen is that this will get worse and eventually the car will quit all the time or just not start, then it will be easy to find the problem.

If you want a WAG at this, I think yo will need a remanufactured distributor. With this many miles, the shaft bearing could be worn out. But don’t buy a new distributor based on this, you could throw a lot of parts at this problem before you get lucky and hit the right one.

If it DOES NOT shudder or gradually cut out when it dies…then it points to an electrical fault. Possibly a fuel pump not up to the task… with the clues at hand it can be WAY TOO MANY THINGS

Does this malfunction have any association with HEAT? As in after it warms up it cuts out? If so it further points to an electrical fault… i.e. When your ignition coil gets hot enough it will fail… Something like that?

If she starts right back up after doing this…hmmm well… Like Keith said these are VERY hard to troubleshoot via the internet…

If I or we were there with you when this occurred we would probably know a LOT more. ANY sounds or smells associated with the failure?

PLEASE try to give us ANY and ALL clues that you can regarding the issue…as it can be so many things at this point but we have not much to go on here…a little more info please