Buick Jerks

I have a 1995 Buick Lesabre. The car jerks while I am driving or when idle as if it wants to shut off. Sometimes it jerks and then the check engine light comes on. When I described the problem to my mechanic he said that it might have been the fuel filter but then he said it might be an electrical problem. I would like to start with the fuel filter to see if that would help but I am not a mechanic nor am I an expert on cars nor do I want to spend tons of money on such an old car. Any advice would be great…

You don’t replace a fuel filter to “fix” a problem. You replace a fuel filter on a regular basis as part of basic maintenance so that you don’t experience problems. So how old is the fuel filter? Is it due for replacement? If it is due for replacement then replace it. If it is not due for replacement, then don’t assume it is a problem.

The same goes for a lot of other things. How old are your spark plugs and wires, for example?

The check engine light means that error codes were stored in the computer. Did you mechanic read the codes? If so what were they? Auto repair is not a matter of shooting in the dark. If the codes weren’t read, this is a 1995 so it is probably an OBD 1 system, and here are instructions for how to read the error codes: http://www.obd-codes.com/faq/read-gm-2-digit-obd-codes-free.php

Again, I don’t know much about cars. I am not sure how old the fuel filter is. When my mechanic tried the diagnostic test he said that there was no reading but the car’s power kept shutting off and on. I am not sure what to take of that since there is clearly a problem or if it means that it is an electrical problem. He did mention that there might be a communication problem from car’s computer to cause it to jerk. Not sure when the last tune up was either. I am the second owner of the car and I have not gotten a tune up since I’ve owned it, for nearly a year and a half.