Backing out on a car deal

If I purchased a used car from a dealership in Texas on Saturday evening, I paid cash, did not take possession of the car I am supposed to get it on Tuesday, but now I need to back out of the deal do I have any way to do that? Does the dealership have any obligation to reimburse me my money?

Many states have a 3-day opt-out clause. I have no idea if Texas does.

I have notified them by phone and email do I need to get a certified letter sent today? do you know? Thanks!

I’m NOT a lawyer…I would go there in person.

It all depends on the terms of the contract and whether or not you signed it. You need to talk to someone at the dealership. They aren’t going to return your calls to help you back out of the deal. You need to show up in person, and if they won’t let you out of the deal, you need legal advice (from a lawyer).

Talk to the Texas Automobile Dealers Association.

Thank you, I went to the dealership in person today, no luck will see where I can get with the Texas Automobile Dealers Association and a Lawyer.

I’m almost dead certain that the state of Texas does not allow you any kind of time frame to back out on a car deal.
(Just based on living in OK and having heard of some car deals, living in TX for a while, etc, etc.)

If there is no right of return then I suggest that you do not get mad if the dealer:
A. Flat refuses to return any of your money.
B. Returns most of it while keeping a percentage for aggravation purposes.

There is no reason why a dealer should suffer a financial loss because of buyer’s remorse.

“There is no reason why a dealer should suffer a financial loss because of buyer’s remorse.”

I agree that the dealer (and salesman) deserves some payment for the paperwork done to complete the sale. I think that $300 or so is reasonable.

Where I am, once the tyres touch the public road, it is your car.