Aveo Headlamp Replacement GRRRRRR!

I tried to replace the headlamp in my parents’ Chevy Aveo. I read the owners manual and looked under the hood and thought I could do this. I did what it said to do in the manual but there was one thing the manual left out. There is a little white plastic piece holding the headlamp assembly in place that the manual doesn’t mention. What do I do with it? If any of you Aveo owners or mechanics out there that can help my with this I would be very grateful.

I have no direct experience replacing the headlamp assembly on an Aveo, but I’d say the white plastic piece has to go back where it came from when you removed the assembly from the car.

I’m surprised the owner’s manual has such detail. Usually it just covers bulb replacement.

Have a look here: http://www.autozone.com/shopping/vehicleSelect1.htm

Autozone rarely has repair information for cars made after 2005.

Have you looked at the opposite side to see how that one looks?

Perhaps, but the poster didn’t say what year the vehicle was either.

When did the Aveo come on the market?

(Cars.com car research says 2004)

I too was frustrated by these white plastic “tabs” until realizing (with the help of a neighbour) that they were “receptors” for a tapered metal stud that is part of the headlamp enclosure. The combination of white plastic tab and tapered stud (similar to the means of securing the removable grilles of stereo speakers) works by “friction”. By getting a good grasp on the headlight assembly with both hands (which is difficult to do because there is not much “play”) and sharply pulling out (and a bit towards the center) this last hold on the headlamp assembly should let go.