Aftermarket backup sensors?

My wife and I have become huge fans of backup sensors, and each have them on the cars we drive. We are about to buy a used car (a Honda Civic) for out teenage daughter to drive and we’ve come to understand that Honda never made factory backup sensors for the Civic. We think we might like to get an aftermarket set installed when we buy a used Civic.

Does anyone have a experience adding backup sensors to a car where it was not a factory option? Any lessons learned you can pass along?

Many thanks in advance.

Sorry, but I have no experience with the device about which you enquire.

Maybe I’m missing something, but what are “back-up sensors,” and are they standard equipment on certain vehicles?

Next question; what is the size of the vehicle(s) upon which such a thing is standard equipment?

When I “back up” in any vehicle I’ve ever driven, the only “sensor” I’ve ever had has been my eyes, and my ability to perceive the distance between my vehicle and the vehicle behind it.

Is there something else?

If so, wow(!), but why? Can’t you judge the corners on your cars? What are you driving?

And even if your cars are exceptionally large (Bently Mulsanne?), what’s up with the Civic? ANYONE should be able to back up in a Civic, without any help, and not hit whatever might be behind the car. If your daughter can’t do that, perhaps she shouldn’t be driving.

For that matter, if YOU can’t do that, perhaps you shouldn’t be driving.

Many cars come with backup sensors. Some cars are easier to see behind than others, big or small. Few, if any, cars let you see everything behind you that is shorter than the trunk lid height. Some cars also have rear-view cameras. Of course, you can get by without it. But, it is another safety device that does help sometimes. Why be opposed to it?

A high end audio store could probably fix you right up.