Advice on idiot lights

I work as a Valet for a large hotel chain and it isn’t uncommon for people to stop and talk to me on their out to get directions, etc.

Today a couple in a late model Nissan, Versa? pulled up and seemed concerned that the yellow/orange looking light was on. It looks like an exclamation mark with some brackets around it, so it wasn’t the CEL.

I shrugged and told them to look in their owner’s manual, then they informed me that the car didn’t come with one. I glanced again to make sure it wasn’t the low-oil pressure light or something more critical and then told them politely that if it was my car, I would not be concerned with it (they only had 100 miles to drive anyway).

In these cars is this just a “time for maintenance” light? I’m just curious more than anything now.

TMPS(tire pressure) fault likely.

It may be an indication that the car has lasted longer than the manufacturer intended. Holy Moley(!!) You just reached 30,000 miles(!!)

lol

I believe that the warning light that you described is a brake system warning light, but that could only be confirmed by consulting the Owner’s Manual.

I find it interesting that these people seemed “concerned” about the light, but that they were not concerned enough about their car and its operation to have obtained an Owner’s Manual for it. Seems a bit inconsistent, don’t you think?

I believe this is another example of why there should be a mandatory standard when it comes to the indicators on the instrument panel. Different manufacturers have changed them for whatever reason.

It is not too much of a problem for the owner of the car, but when you get rentals etc, it can be confusing and there is no need for the confusion.

Yup! Tire Pressure Monitoring System warning light. http://www.aa1car.com/library/tpms_icon.jpg

Tester

Could be wrong and I’ll double check later, but I believe the light you described, on my Ford anyway, is for the transmission.