Advice for a girl with a budget

I am currently driving a 98 Dodge Neon. I have been driving this car since i was 16 and, 6 years later, I’m more than ready for a new one. I would rather not have a car payment and I have a limited budget of about $5000. I drive an hour each way to school 5 days a week so I’m looking for a used car that I would enjoy being in for 2 hours everyday that gets decent gas mileage. I was considering a Hyundai Elantra Hatchback (2004-2006 range. Though, reviews that i have read are mixed, I have heard that they offer a lot in terms of options for the price.

Any suggestions for this girl with a budget?

Also, what do you think about getting a car that has higher miles but has had much of the common 100k mile repairs done?

What’s wrong with your current car? I ask because $5000 and below is the territory in which you are taking a gamble. The car might turn out to be great, or it might need a lot of work which is tough to do on a budget. If you’re just tired of your current car, I’d advise sticking with it a couple more years until you can save more money.

Agree; the Neon is worth very little, and if it still runs reasonably reliable, keep using it and save up for a better car.

Nothing wrong with an Elantra that HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. You need written proof of that!

In general,with Foreign made cars, get the one with the LEAST extras. Forget sliding roofs, expensive custom wheels, heated seats, and all those other things that post a great deal to fix when they break.

With your Neon, the key areas to watch are the cooling system (check level frequently, and flush every 50,000 miles), the transmission (automatic) which has to have its fluid and filter changed every 30,00 miles, and check the engine oil level every at second tank full of gas.

A $5000 used car is problable a worse gamble than keeping your current car.