Upgrading my Neon to an Srt-4

Hi cartalk community, I am a 18 year old college student looking to upgrade my dodge neon 2005 to an srt4. I was talking to a couple of friends about it and they recommend just a simple engine swap because I’m on a budget. Does anyone have any tips or recommendations on my project car? I’m relatively new to cars and need help !

I cannot answer your question as I do not work on those things so my opinion is general only. This will be deeper than an engine swap. Exhaust, PCM, wire harness, etc, etc.

It’s going to involve a lot of work, likely a lot of tweaking, and the 800 pound gorilla in the room is the pile of money that it will take to do this for an 18 year old.

My recommendation? Sell the current Neon and buy an SRT-4. Much faster and more than likely a lot cheaper.

10 Likes

Of course they do because they are not paying for something that will not really gain anything . It will still be an old Neon with a different engine. If your state has Emmision inspections you might not pass and then what will you do .

If this thing looks decent and runs fairly well just do cosmetic stuff to it and no one will know you don’t reall have a SRT4 .

2 Likes

The SRT4 has been out of production for 16 years. The model was far more than just the engine. The entire driveline, suspension, engine wiring harness and ECU need changing. The Neon isn’t much more than that itself.

You would be money ahead to sell the Neon and buy an SRT4.

7 Likes

One of the Neon forums has a bunch of posts about this from folks who’ve done the conversion but you need a crashed SRT4 to pull everything from.
https://www.2gn.org/

1 Like

I don’t think a mechanically challenged 18 year old college student on a budget should even think about an engine swap on anything; or listen to likely equally challenged friends.