A/C Liquid lines last forever now?

Hello! So I am in a not very interesting dispute with my local dodge dealer–Chapman Dodge. They ordered me the wrong part (liquid line from compressor to receiver dryer when I wanted the liquid line from receiver dryer to both expansion blocks on a 2012 Chrysler T&C Touring L flex Fuel). They won’t take it back cause it was a “special order” (took all of 24 hours to get so…).

Now here’s where it gets fun. I told the fine charming parts manager I was talking to “this isn’t a special order part; it’s something your shop replaces on the regular,” What he told me was that they have the technology now that hoses don’t wear out and if he replaced even two of them in a year they would be in an in stock part.

Have things changed since I was a tech about 17 years ago? I didn’t need the liquid line they got me because I had replaced it already (debris damage to the condenser so I replaced that, the compressor in case sudden lubrication loss had caused damage, and the hoses up front). I replaced that liquid line because it had that greasy dust around the high pressure clamps that indicates refrigerant is seeping through it, evaporating, and leaving the PAG oil to collect dust. I wanted to replace the back line because it shows the same pattern around the clamps. Am I just unusual? Both the dealer and I are here in the desert, but I don’t think I run my A/C any more that most people in the desert, which is to say we ALL run them anytime we’re in the car from May to September for sure. And the aluminum evaporators on these cars (particularly in front A/C) are known for going. I can’t imagine not strongly suggesting the replacement of hoses if I was doing that job on anything over 75k? The aluminum has failed and let 134a leak but the hose is impervious? I know for efficiency reasons these days they want the aluminum as thin as possible but…I’m having trouble reconciling that.