99 contour

The break lights on my contour will not turn off, even when I turn the car off. I have tried tampering with the pedal with no success. What can I do.

Since the brake light circuit is always hot, unplug the brake lamp switch to prove if it is bad within. ( brake pedal has two switches, 1 brake light, 1 speed control )

The next step is to look for short to ground.
Look inside at each bulb fillament to see if a broken one has leaned over to touch the other. ( if one brake light is brighter than the other start there )
Look at all the wires for any worn through.

The brake light switch is probably faulty or adjusted too close to the brake pedal.

Adjust or replace the switch. It’s not the pedal, it’s the switch that contacts the pedal.

thank you, this is my first time on this sight and it is awesome

how do i do that?

how do i check if my light switch on my breaks is fault or too close to the break pedal, my lights won’t go off.

Please take the car to a mechanic.

I have no money for a mechanic, so how can I turn my break lights off. They stay on even when the car is turned off, as of now I am just unhooking my battery every time I turn the car off. Please help me!

Where is the break lamp switch on a 99 Contour?

Get a flashlight. Crawl down underneath the dash in front on the driver’s side and check out the brake pedal. Move it up and down with your hand a bit and watch its movement. Follow up and down the lever and look for the switch - it should be a push-button like thing. It might be on top of the lever or on bottom. Play with it a little to understand how it works.

Look closely at it for anything that looks like it might be threaded to turn as an adjustment. Play with it a little to see if it adjusts.