91 Honda Civic DX

So I’m a novice when it comes to auto repair but I like to fix things. So… here it goes. A friend gave me their 91 civic that has been sitting in their driveway since 2006. They wanted it out of their driveway & I thought it be a good opportunity to learn a bit about fixing cars, so I took it.

It has a manual transmission, Dual Point PGM-FI, & 120,700 miles.

I have charged the battery which is about 1 to 1 1/2 years old. I removed the spark plugs, squirted some oil in each and hand cranked it to lubricate what i could before trying to start the car. That went pretty good so i re-installed the plugs, put some gas, but the car did not start. So after a few attempts, I removed the cover that has DUAL POINT PGM-FI printed on it and poured some gas in the intake & the car started right up. But as soon as the gas ran out the car died so poured more gas @ that point & it started again but died again. So it seems that the gas is not getting to the engine for some reason. I put about 2 gals of gas in at the start and noticed that the fuel gauge did not move & it is still on empty. I think its a good sign that it started & sounded pretty good but now I have to figure out how to keep it going.

Have I started off the right way?
What can I do to figure out why the gas is not getting to the fuel injectors?
What steps should I take to troubleshoot the fuel system?
Should I have flushed the fuel system first?
If so, how do you flush the fuel system?

Thanks for any advice!!!

A vehicle that has sat idle for five years probably has gasoline in the gas tank, fuel lines, fuel pump, and fuel injectors that has turned to varnish. The next step would be to disassemble the entire fuel system, gas tank, fuel lines, fuel pump, and injectors to either clean or replace these components.

Tester

Start with the basics…

Replace the filter first.

Then see if the fuel pump is actually working.