Car has been sitting for 4 years

Hi im 17 years old and about to get my license. My mother is giving me a 99 Toyota camry as my first car but its a bit of a project. It has sat in a driveway unmoved for about 4 years. It ran fine before and only has 55k miles on it along with brand new tires. It just has sat. What maintenance do i need to have done for the car to be road worthy? Battery is corroded so obviously i have to replace that and a oil change wouldnt hurt. Other than that im unsure because I am not a mechanic but i cant afford to pay one.

2 Likes

The biggest problem here is that the gas in the tank is bad and will wreak havoc on the fuel system and engine. I would drain the tank and lines to the best of your ability and put fresh gas in the tank. Drain and fill the oil. It wouldn’t hurt to pull the spark plugs and squirt a tiny bit of oil in the cylinders and then hand rotate the engine once or twice using the crank pulley bolt. Then turn the key and hope for the best!

5 Likes

You definitely want to check all the belts and hoses. Make sure the belts are tight and don’t show any signs of rotting like frayed edges and stuff like that. Look up on YouTube or Google images to see what they should and should NOT look like. Out of your hoses, especially check the one going into/out of radiator–up near the front usually. If that goes, shell loose all the water, overheat and the block will crack. (I’ve been there, done that, and got the T-shirt.And it SUCKS.)
Other than an oil change–which is definitely a must–take it easy for the first 100 or so miles and the first few weeks of driving it. Especially when the engine is cold at start up. Don’t go over 55 or 60 mph during that time.