Unrepeatable Miracle ... again

My '88 G20 van had been sitting in my yard for about 5 years, and hadn’t been started for about 4 of those years. No “moth-balling” preparations had been made. That was a year ago now when I changed the fuel filter, and to my amazement the van started and after some initial coughing and sputtering, it ran beautifully for about 45 minutes when I shut it off. I was never able to get it started again, and about a year ago I posted a thread “Unrepeatable Miracle”. Thanks to input from that thread it was determined that though my fuel pump and/or in tank filter HAD been OK, they were no longer, for upon disconnecting the in-line filter, no fuel was being pumped out.

Last week, though I am no mechanic, I pulled the fuel tank (while lying on the dirt) and used a floor jack (set on cardboard) to lower the tank down. The in tank filter or “sock” was a total mess. The pump may or may not have been good. I took the tank to a radiator shop to be flushed and cleaned. They seemed to have done a good job. I replaced the pump and in-tank filter with new Bosch parts, and used the floor jack to help me re-install the tank. After not too much cranking the van started … blowing out a lot of blue smoke at first which eventually stopped (I know that the engine has bad valve-stem guides allowing some oil to get into the cylinders). Also while it was running, I would hear backfire sounding pops each time accompanied by a puff of BLACK smoke, and I think I saw a spark come out of the tail-pipe. If I didn’t keep the pedal way depressed the engine was sure to stall, but after maybe ten minutes I became concerned about coolant because I had forgot to check it. I had no bricks at hand to hold the gas pedal down so I had to stop the engine to check the coolant (which was OK). I then could not get it started again, and my battery ran out and needed to be charged. (The battery is marginal in condition.) The next day, with the battery charged I tried again, but firs