50K miles on my 2005 mits.and company won't warranty my transmission

I recently had difficulty putting my 2005 mitsubishi into 1st or 2nd gear. Took it to the dealer and they stated transmission problems to first and second gears are from driver error and therefore won’t be covered under my 100K powertrain warranty. They said the brass synchros are worn and this would occur from resting my hand on the shifter while driving or hard shifting the transmission.(which, neither one of those things I do) My spyder has 50K miles on it. I’ve been driving 5spd for 20 years w/o repacing a clutch let alone transmission problems. I’ve tried to get service records from previous cars I’ve owned to show no history of transmission problems but the dealers have purged their files. I’ve already started the process of filing a dispute with NCDS but need to gather info in my favor. I could use any help anyone could offer. As it stands now, I’m responsible for the $2000+ bill at the dealership. The district rep won’t budge stating the parts are worn and not defective. The local service manager tried to plead my case - with no luck. Apparently due to the economy the gray areas of warranty are being denied. And I heard this twice from the service manager and my service advisor. I need help!!!

Had a problem with a GM product that the dealer would not want to fix. I went straight to the distributor which for me was GM Overseas and showed them the problem and the explation from the dealer. The car was fixed under warranty.

A good profesional conversation with the distributor will get you pretty far. If these people are not in your area, you might have to call them.

I appears you already talked to the district rep, so I would get a lawyer or see if the warranty issue qualifies for arbitration. Balance the cost of doing this against paying for the fix and selling the car before a recurrence.

From what you have said, you are not getting a fair hearing.