Worn clutch after 12,000 miles not covered by warranty - advice?

I have a 2007 Honda Fit with only 12,700 miles and the clutch has been slipping since at least 5,000 miles. (I love the car except for this problem.) The dealer has finally been able to reproduce the problem and acknowledges the clutch needs replacing, to the tune of $1,700. I have more than 25 years of experience driving manual transmissions and have driven two Fords on one clutch for more than 150,000 miles each, so I am fairly certain that my driving habits did not cause the wear. Obviously, I believe Honda should pay; I’ve never heard of a clutch wearing out after so few miles.

The dealer told me that the clutch is a “wearable item” with just a 1 year warranty and there’s nothing they can do for me. So I appealed to customer service at Honda of America. The case manager says that I’m past the 3-year 30,000 mile warranty, but that they are checking with the dealer to determine the “cause of the wear.” Is it really possible to tell from wear patterns whether the wear is from driver behavior or poor quality manufacturing? Regardless, does anyone think I have a chance of getting Honda to pay for the clutch replacement? If so, how?

A four (five?) year old car with 12,700 miles on the odometer suggests mostly in-town driving. On a vehicle that old, there’s no way you can get Honda to pay for a clutch. If in the process they discover a clear manufacturing defect they might be willing to prorate the cost, but even that would be a “gift”.

Consider also that you’ve been driving it for the last 7,000+ miles knowing full well that it was slipping. Perhaps you should have brought it back at 5,000 miles when it originally began doing so.

Sorry, but IMHO you’re being unrealistic in expecting them to pay for it. If it had begun misfiring at 5,000 and you kept driving it for another 7,000 miles until the misfiring caused further damage, would yau blame honda for the futher damage?