'49 Dodge, clicking under hood and power loss

I have a 1949 Dodge B1-B, which was the half-ton model. Still has the original flathead, straight six engine, been rebuilt twice to my knowledge. Three-speed in the floor. I have done most of the restoration myself, aside from putting in another transmission and swapping out the rear differential, but I am by no means a mechanic with adequate diagnostic equipment; I don’t even have a stethoscope.

My problem is this: Over the course of about three days, I noticed a clicking/ticking noise from under the hood which gradually got louder. Once it reached its full noisiness, I noticed a marked loss of power across the board. I have also noticed a little bit more vibration that normal, but only enough to make the mirrors shimmy a bit.

Things I have fixed/replaced since the noise started:
-New spark plugs
-New condenser coil
-New distributor cap
-Rebuilt carburetor (it needed to be rebuilt long before the noise started)
-New glass-packing for muffler

I have also adjusted the timing with the distributor shaft adjuster and the idle screw, but the ticking doesn’t go away.

There has always been a leak in the exhaust system where the manifold meets the pipe, and the heat riser is naturally broken, but these things have always been present and there has never been this ticking noise.

I can get it to idle as low as 250-300rpm, so I don’t think it is a fuel issue. And from what I can find online, the easy fix would be that the timing chain needs to be replaced. I am getting this checked by a mechanic on Monday.

I have put maybe 100 miles on it since the noise and power loss started, and it doesn’t seem to be getting worse over time. So, does anybody have any suggestions on what might be causing this?