2016 Honda Accord Sdn - Transmission mystery

Car was bought used with 63k miles on the odometer. Has worked flawlessly with no complaints. 40mpg on the long trips and averages 30+ during commutes. At the 93k mile mark, we changed the fluid using OEM filter, Honda HCF-2 and OEM gaskets. Color was a light to medium brown and nothing abnormal in the drain pan or on the magnet. WIthin a day or two the car began idling poorly and would shut down and lurch to a stop when put into reverse and at the first several stop lights. Took it to the dealership to have the fluid changed again and it ran better for two days then displayed the same behavior as above. Our private mechanic says the VIN falls within the range of a TSB requiring the transmission to be replaced. Will Honda do anything for us? We are just under the 100k mile mark. THere is no way this transmission should be failing at such a low mileage. Anyone have any suggestions?

Bear in mind I am not a mechanic but I’m not convinced the stalling/rough idle is transmission related. Normally if you have transmission problems the vehicle won’t move or you’ll get jerky shifts or something similar. From your description that’s not what’s happening. On a Pontiac I owned at one time, when the car was warmed up the torque converter wouldn’t unlock when I came to a stop and it would kill the engine. Something similar might be happening but I’m inclined to doubt it.

Very good point and originally I thought this was the throttle body but this car does not stall like a fuel issue
when you put it in gear, it lurches and shuts down in one fluid motion