2010 Santa Fe Limited Suspension Advice

Hi there,

First time on Car Talk. I am new to car forums in general, though have a lot of experience with another form of repair. Pinball to be precise. What a great community that one is. Here is to hoping there is similar support on Car Talk.

Problem: I have ignored some stressful Suspension issues through the winter, and it is time to hit the garage. I just want to fuel myself with info before going in there.

• Already replaced one full control Arm and a tie rod. Seems the new tie rod is making noise again. In fact both sides seem to be rattling. I know the source is that my struts are finished. Saw them leaking a long time ago …and now every pothole jars the car like mad.

BIG QUESTION: Do i just replace the struts for now and see how the car behaves … or should I replace other parts of the suspension while I am in there?

Another Question: I feel like the OEM Struts were not the best. Any recommendations on brands I should go for quality struts for a 2010 Santa Fe Limited? Where best to get them?

Silly Question: Do the coils last for ever or should they be replaced with the struts at the same time? They seem to be very expensive. Don’t want to change them for nothing.

Anything else I am leaving out when trying to make the suspension reliable?

A big thanks in advance

You want to replace all worn parts at one time. The labor is cheaper than replacing parts piecemeal.

And if you find a bad part on one side, replace the part on the other side too. As it’s probably as bad.

And no. OEM struts are not the best. Car makers make millions of vehicles. And they demand the lowest prices from their parts suppliers. So in order for the part supplier to make a profit, the only way to do it is to supply a sub-par part.

Just replacing the strut cartridge is cheaper. But when you replace the strut assembly, not only do get a new strut, you get a new spring, and a new upper strut bearing.