2008 Impala SS thumping and clicking when in park or brakes engaged!

Hello everyone!
I’m a noob to the community and cars in general. I have the above mentioned car with 50876 miles. I noticed that the steering wheel causes a click in the suspension when turned left or right whether stationary or with the brakes engaged. Also I noticed a thump felt through the steering wheel while doing the same action. I have no idea what could be causing it, I checked my power steering pump and the fluid is brownish-red in color and no leaks are visible either on the ground or around the pump. I also got under the car and there seems to be no leaky CV boots ( i had to look these up to know what they look like).
I would really appreciate any help I can get with this issue as my wife and newborn baby ride with me sometimes in the car and I don’t want to break down or God forbid crash with them on board.

Thank You

It’s Difficult To Be Sure From Here, But It Sounds Like You’re Describing A Binding Intermediate Steering Shaft.

This shaft is a short bar with a sliding section and universal joints on each end. It basically connects the steering wheel to the car’s steering rack & pinion assembly to transfer the driver’s steering desire to the front wheels.

Some take the shaft out and relube it, but the real fix is to take it out and replace it. Don’t quote me, but I think your car takes part # 25913681. You can call a dealer parts department to verify and get a price. Labor shouldn’t be too bad, I’m guessing 1/2 to an hour, but they can tell you that, too. Any good service writer can assess the car in the parking lot.

It shouldn’t be dangerous, rather an annoyance. (The sliding part that is lubed starts sticking and releasing suddenly, but everything’s still bolted solidly in place). Make sure that’s what it is first and get it done.

CSA