2008 Honda Fit Manual - The Trouble with Reverse?

I have a 2008 Honda Fit Manual with 128000 kms on it. Its been a great car but I’ve had a recurring issue with getting the shifter into reverse ever since I bought the car - numerous techs have looked at it over the past 6 years and “nothing is wrong”. I digress, the problem is that I have a heck of a time getting the car into reverse sometimes, not all the time but fairly consistently. I have the clutch all the way in, I’m certainly not grinding the gears or anything. It happens in hot, mild and cold weather, damp and dry, on an incline, not on an incline…I think you may get the picture. The only thing I can do to successfully get the car into reverse is to put the shifter into first gear, let the clutch out slowly and then attempt reverse again. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t - this trick is something the dealership mentioned to me.

I’ve been driving manual transmissions for over 20 years - Volvo, GM, Toyota, Subaru, BMW & some lovely Italians but I have never experienced this type of issue before and in my experience of driving I certainly do not consider this to be normal. Although the dealership has investigated and advised me that this is indeed within the realm of reasonable. Any advice on what to look at would be great as my warranty on this is about to come to an end. Thx

I’ve had this issue bothwith my Toyota truck and Supra. Alot of times, throwing it into 1st, 2nd, or 3rd allows me to drop it into reverse. Seems like the cogs will line up just right to prevent the gears from meshing until you can get them to rotate just a hair. I’ve learned to live with it, since the only real cure would be to crack open the transmission and clean up the cogs.

Hard to know for sure without taking it apart, but I suspect a warped clutch disc as a possibility. When you engage a forward gear, it stops the trans input shaft, so that you can make the quick shift to reverse without a problem.