2006 Equinox Timing Chain Repairs and Costs

Hello, Tom and Ray!

I read your column in the paper every week and you guys are great! This is my first time writing to you. I will soon be the proud owner of a 2006 Chevy Equinox, thanks to a co-worker selling at an awesome price and my wonderful mom taking out the loan. So far, the current owner has never had any trouble with her belts or the timing chain. Which is great, but I want to be prepared in the event that this should become an issue. My last two vehicles needed the timing belt replaced not long after I had acquired them (but these were pretty old and the cars were free). On my '97 Dodge Intrepid, the repair was over $500 mainly due to labor. On my '92 Plymouth Acclaim, it wasn’t quite so much. Can you give me an idea what this repair would cost on the '06 Equinox? Thanks!

Regina, Tonawanda, NY

I cannot open the Gates books without downloading Google Chrome, and I refuse to do that. Chrome is a highly risky download.

Anybody here know if this is a belt or a chain?

I’m pretty sure than an Equinox came only with either a 3.4L or 3.6L V6, both of which are chain driven. So bookworm0812, if you keep up with all of the maintenance in this vehicle then you should never have to do anything at all with the timing system.