2001 Honda Accord Transmission

So I have a 2001 Honda Accord. Ofcourse it has their well established transmission issue. It’s not terrible though and it doesn’t bother me. It rarely bucks, as in once or so a month but i clearly isn’t shifting completely right. It’s been doing it since I got the car 9 months ago though. A mechanic I took the car too (not for the transmission) had driven it and noted the transmission should be fixed in the future.

My question is should I get the transmission fixed soon or just wait till it stops working completely/gets much worse. My fear is that they will fix parts of it for a high cost and then a few months later a different part will fail. It’s a got 102k miles. I’m a broke recent college graduate in Los Angeles. I’m just wondering what will be better for my car and namely the most cost effective.

Will it be extremely more expensive to drive it till the tranny goes or to have them pull it apart and fix it now? I can’t be certain but I assume they will have to replace a lot of the transmission if not the whole thing in order to fix it now.

Has this transmission ever been serviced?

If you can spare enough for a basic diagnostic charge at a transmission shop I think that would be a good idea. Perhaps there are things going on that can be dealt with to prolong the transmission, including basic servicing. When I say transmission shop, I mean a) a shop that specializes in transmission work. Most mechanics don’t actually have any expertise with automatic transmissions. And b) don’t use any kind of nationally known transmission chain operation. You want a locally owned shop with a good reputation.