2001 dodge ram oil pressure

Hello, recently my truck’s oil pressure light goes to 0 when I stop my truck at a red light after having driven at a high speed(interstate) but as soon as I rev the engine it goes back to normal. This has started to happen more often and I’m wondering if it is just a sensor or what?! I went to the shop today and the mechanic told me I was 1 1/2 quarts low and the oil was dirty. He connected it to an oil pressure machine and said the pressure was fine but b/c it was low on oil that was probably the cause.(I had it changed about 3 months ago at Wal Mart so I dont know what happened there). What is y’alls opinion?! Thanks so much! I’m a poor student and if my engine blows i’ll be stuck!

I think you should watch your oil level and be sure to get it changed at the correct intervals. It’s possible that you’re burning oil or leaking it somewhere, or it’s possible that walmart just didn’t refill it correctly (more than possible).

Hopefully your oil pressure warning was the result of having pulled all of the oil up in to the motor and out of the oil pan during your interstate travel. Keep that oil level topped off, you’ll be replacing a motor if you don’t.

Replace the oil pressure sending unit. Don’t let anyone at Wally-World touch your vehicle…It is normal for a hot engine to have very low oil pressure at idle. But you should have 10psi even then…The sending unit is the usual culprit.

but b/c it was low on oil that was probably the cause.(I had it changed about 3 months ago at Wal Mart so I dont know what happened there).

My guess is you have used some oil in the last three months and it is now low. It might have been a little low when you left WalMart. I suggest you get in the habit of checking your oil on a regular bases. This is especially important if you car has started burning oil.