2 questions about my '05 xB

Hi there,

I have 2 questions for you great folks about my 2005 xB, 137k miles. Please keep in mind that I know very little about cars - I can change a tire (yes, I’m a humanities professor).

1. It’s been setting a code combination of VSC, Trac OFF and Check Engine. All three come on at once. I had the guys at pep boys check the codes and the only code that was being flagged was a “very small leak in the Evaporative Emissions System” What does this mean? Someone told me that the first thing I should do is replace the gas cap. Is this true?

2. I noticed that there’s been some chugging over the past few days when driving. At about 3000 RPM, the car hesitates as it’s cruising down the road. I was having this problem in May during a long trip and some fuel injector cleaner did the trick. Could I already need to add more? The car has a new battery and I will be replacing the serpentine belt next week.

Thank you for your kind assistance.

That check engine light on likely turns the other systems off so that’s why those lights may be on. The check engine light is the first concern.

Depending on the code the guy at pepboys read, it could be something as simple as a bad gas cap. Do you know the code? It will likely look like PXXXX, where XXXX is a number.
If the gas cap is cheap, replace it and see if it goes away.They can cause codes to be thrown.

Regarding 2, it really could be anything. You could run some Techron fuel additive through it as that is a cheap thing to try. Sometimes it does the trick but it is not a catch-all solution. It could be related to, for instance, fuel delivery or a misfire. It would be impossible to tell from here.
The check engine light could very well be trying to tell you what the problem is - again, it depends on what code was read.