1997 toyota celica

So I had my celica for awhile now and really wanted to add some modifications to help the performance. Im by no means a mechanic, but id love some ideas for some things that I could possibly do myself to make the car faster and handle better. From my research so far I found that in the most simple terms its important to know that if you add power to the engine you need to make sure the power can be transferred to the drivetrain and that the chassis can be able to support it. The part i’m not exactly sure is how much power each extra part adds and where to start. Im looking forward to what advise you guys have.

Faster and better handling cars are not those from that era, but newer. They are designed from the get-go for more power, low emissions, better handling and braking and safety… best thing for a nice 1997 Celica is to take good care of it and enjoy, not try to make it into something it is not.

Focus on the handle better part. Springs, shocks and strut, stabilizer bars and poly bushings. Then wheels and tires. Then brakes. Easier than engine work and should be done first. Given this is a 22 year old car, replace all the worn parts in the driveline and then consider a complete engine rebuild since trying to make more power from a worn engine is a waste of time.

Given the amount of money all this costs, you might just save up for a better, faster car instead of modding the Celica.

3 Likes

I would more impressed by a1997 Celica that looks as stock and new as possible. Yes, to decent suspension parts but engine modifications on this will not even justify the expense .

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback! I know it does not really make sense money wise, but for some reason i’m pretty into the car and I think its a lot of fun to drive. From your experience if I were to do these changes would I notice a significant change?