1991 Honda Accord EX WAGON Odometer stopped working, S light flashes, Check Engine light sometimes

Hello! I am a grad student hoping my car will hang in there till graduation next year. I have about 227,000 miles on my Honda Accord Wagon and recently the odometer stopped working, S light started flashing, and the check engine light came on. This only happens sometimes, and the check engine light does not always come on when the S light flashes and odometer stops working. I’ve continued driving the car to see what happens and so far, no problems have come up. I have driven another 1000 miles and am hoping I can just ignore the problem and continue driving the vehicle since I am not in a position to fix it or get a new car.

Recently I passed my California emissions test and she seems to be running smooth. Any thoughts or warnings as to why sometimes these signals happen?

I have to drive with GPS on all the time to know my speed, but other than that I feel OK.

@MCJohnston

I’d say the vehicle speed sensor . . . . which may be located on the automatic transmission . . . is faulty

Had the same problem on my sister-in-law’s 1990 Accord EX. It was a LONG time ago, so I’m not entirely sure anymore where the sensor was located

I do remember it was very easy to replace, and not that expensive

You have 2 of the classic symptoms . . . odometer AND speedometer stop working correctly

The flashing S light…if Im not mistaken points directly to a problem with the transmission. More specifically…the speed sensor on the trans. You say the odometer stopped working…does the speedo still function? If so that can mean the motor inside the cluster for the odometer stopped working…or it stopped receiving signal from the trans computer and has no idea how many RPMS are taking place…so it cannot feed the odometer motor in the cluster.